2016 End of the Year Book Survey!

Survey and graphics created by Jamie @ Perpetual Page Turner

Number Of Books You Read: 25
Number of Re-Reads: 4
Genre You Read The Most From: Fantasy

best-YA-books-2014

1. Best Book You Read In 2016?

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas! Feysand ❤

2. Book You Were Excited About & Thought You Were Going To Love More But Didn’t?

Virgins by Diana Gabaldon. I was excited to read more about Jamie’s past because I love him but unfortunately, this wasn’t as good as I’d hoped.

 3. Most surprising (in a good way or bad way) book you read?

Captive Prince by C. S. Pacat. Due to all the trigger warnings for this trilogy, I was afraid I wouldn’t enjoy it, even though I really wanted to. But I was pleasently surprised.

 4. Book You “Pushed” The Most People To Read (And They Did)?

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas! I’ve recommended it to a lot of people online and one of my irl friends is actually already halfway through Crown of Midnight and loving it!

 5. Best series you started in 2016? Best Sequel of 2016? Best Series Ender of 2016?

Best series I started in 2016: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Best sequel of 2016: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas
Best series ender of 2016: It’s a tie between Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and King’s Rising by C. S. Pacat I can’t choose.

 6. Favorite new author you discovered in 2016?

Leigh Bardugo! I love the Six of Crows duology and I love the diversity in it! I can’t wait to read more of her works.

7. Best book from a genre you don’t typically read/was out of your comfort zone?

N/A

 8. Most action-packed/thrilling/unputdownable book of the year?

I’m gonna have to say Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, it was all the things above and more.

 9. Book You Read In 2016 That You Are Most Likely To Re-Read Next Year?

A Court of Mist and Fury before the release of ACOWAR (even though I’ve reread chapters 54 and 55 quite a bit haha), King’s Rising because I miss Damen and Laurent and fanfiction isn’t enough for me and possibly the Six of Crows duology cause I already miss Kaz and Inej and again, fanfiction just isn’t enough.

10. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2016?

Either Six of Crows or Crooked Kingdom, they’re both amazing.

11. Most memorable character of 2016?

RHYSAND!!! I first met him in 2015 and liked him but it was this year in ACOMAF that we met the real Rhys and I fell in love with him. And also Kaz Brekker because I really relate to him and I’d never met a character I could relate to on that level until him.

 12. Most beautifully written book read in 2016?

Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom both have have some beautiful, strong quotes/scenes.

13. Most Thought-Provoking/ Life-Changing Book of 2016?

I honestly don’t know.

 14. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2016 to finally read?

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! It had been on my TBR since before it was even released!

 15. Favorite Passage/Quote From A Book You Read In 2016?

“To the stars who listen- and the dreams that are answered.” – A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas

16.Shortest & Longest Book You Read In 2016?

Shortest book I read: It was a Lux short story by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Longest book I read: Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout – 1.005 pages

Ha they’re both by the same author xD

 17. Book That Shocked You The Most

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. I was expecting something bad but I wasn’t expecting that. But if you look back, that ending was foreshadowed in The Assassin’s Blade and when I found out I was shook!

18. OTP OF THE YEAR (you will go down with this ship!)

FEYSAND 💙

19. Favorite Non-Romantic Relationship Of The Year

Idk maybe Lysandra and Aelin, I loved them in Empire of Storms.

20. Favorite Book You Read in 2016 From An Author You’ve Read Previously

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas (I feel like I keep answering with this book lol)

21. Best Book You Read In 2016 That You Read Based SOLELY On A Recommendation From Somebody Else/Peer Pressure:

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski. I had heard about this book before but honestly didn’t really know what it was about. Then one day a friend of mine made another friend of ours read it and they kept fangirling about it in our group chat and I mentioned I’d heard about it vaguely and they told me to read it so I did haha

22. Newest fictional crush from a book you read in 2016?

RHYSAND MY HUSBAND

23. Best 2016 debut you read?

N/A

24. Best Worldbuilding/Most Vivid Setting You Read This Year?

I loved the worldbuilding in A Court of Mist and Fury! Especially exploring the night court.

25. Book That Put A Smile On Your Face/Was The Most FUN To Read?

The Six of Crows duology sure made me laugh a lot!

26. Book That Made You Cry Or Nearly Cry in 2016?

A Court of Mist and Fury made me cry four times…

27. Hidden Gem Of The Year?

King’s Rising by C. S. Pacat. Not many people have read this trilogy but it’s honestly amazing (even though the first book is a bit tough to read)

28. Book That Crushed Your Soul?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas crushed my soul alright…

29. Most Unique Book You Read In 2016?

Six of Crows was pretty unique.

30. Book That Made You The Most Mad (doesn’t necessarily mean you didn’t like it)?

Empire of Storms by Sarah J Maas. I was really frustrated while reading the first half of the book and certain things that happened in the end made me mad…

book-blogging

1. New favorite book blog you discovered in 2016?

A fellow Portuguese book blogger Marta @ The Book Mermaid 🙂

2. Favorite review that you wrote in 2016?

The Winner’s Curse

3. Best discussion/non-review post you had on your blog?

In which I rant about the current hate towards Sarah J Maas and diversity (or lack of)

4. Best event that you participated in (author signings, festivals, virtual events, memes, etc.)?

Top Ten Tuesday probably.

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2016?

Okay I’m gonna have to say when I got my signed and personalized copy of A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas 😍😭💙

6. Most challenging thing about blogging or your reading life this year?

My one year long reading slump…

7. Most Popular Post This Year On Your Blog (whether it be by comments or views)?

In which I rant about the current hate towards Sarah J Maas and diversity (or lack of)

8. Post You Wished Got A Little More Love?

Halsey’s Badlands + Book Characters

9. Best bookish discover (book related sites, book stores, etc.)?

Meraki candlesIn the Wick of Time, Fairyloot and Owlcrate!

10.  Did you complete any reading challenges or goals that you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?

Well originally my Goodreads reading challenge was of 60 books but I lowered it to 24 and ended up reading 25 books.

looking-ahead-books-2015

1. One Book You Didn’t Get To In 2016 But Will Be Your Number 1 Priority in 2017?

Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon probably

2. Book You Are Most Anticipating For 2017 (non-debut)?

Flame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh

3. 2017 Debut You Are Most Anticipating?

N/A

 4. Series Ending/A Sequel You Are Most Anticipating in 2017?

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas!!!

5. One Thing You Hope To Accomplish Or Do In Your Reading/Blogging Life In 2017?

Meet Sarah J Maas! My friend who’s studying in the UK and I are hoping to meet her during her UK tour!

6. A 2017 Release You’ve Already Read & Recommend To Everyone:

N/A

How many books did you read in 2016? Did you reach your reading goal?


You can find me on bookstagram, tumblr, pinterest and goodreads!

6 thoughts on “2016 End of the Year Book Survey!

  1. I love this survey. I did it a few days ago and it was so awesome thinking back on all the books I had the opportunity to read last year. I definitely agree with you though, I’m seriously so excited for Flame in the Mist. I absolutely loved The Wrath and The Dawn duology so I have high hopes for Ahdieh’s next novel.

    – E

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read ACOMAF four times since it came out, I just can’t stop thinking about it! It’s so big and beautiful and RHYSAND *fangirl sigh*

    I love all your answers, especially how often Six of Crows was featured. I also discovered Leigh in 2016 and it amazes me that I waited so long! All of her books are golden and I can’t wait to see more of her work in the future. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m a bit late answering / writing comments, SO I’M INCREDIBLY SORRY for not saying anything sooner, but I really wanted to thank you for mentioning me, it made my day (when I first saw it and now 😛 ). You’re very very sweet ❤ ( & your blog was a really nice discovery too 😀 )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

