Let’s talk Shadowhunters!

Captura de Ecrã (74).png

This post is gonna be all about the Shadowhunters tv show that premiered January 12th! The second episode was also released on the Freeform (previously ABC Family) app.

There has been a lot of talk recently about it and opinions are very different between book fans, some hated it, some loved it. To be honest, I quite enjoyed it! From all the sneak peaks we were given, I wasn’t expecting it to be exactly like the books and although I wish they could’ve been a bit more close to them, I don’t really mind the changes. In my opinion, it makes it surprising and intriguing for us book fans. I don’t mind the fact that they added characters and story lines as well, that’s interesting. As long as they don’t change the characters personalities and relationships, which they didn’t, it’s fine by me. I think the actors did a great job with the characters, they’re so like in the books personality wise! And of course it helps knowing the actors beforehand, you can’t help loving them. Unfortunately, the acting and the effects in the fight scenes seemed a bit off sometimes. But we’re just in the beginning so there’s still lots of room for improvement.

I understand why some fans are disappointed and even though I don’t necessarily agree, I respect everyone’s opinons. I’ve been seeing a lot of hate towards the producers, cast and even Cassandra Clare and that makes me sad… I’ve seen people say they lost respect for her because for the second time they let her ruin the adaptation. Cassandra Clare was never involved in the production of the show. Usually no author is (except Diana Gabaldon in Outlander, she even wrote a script). The only way she was involved was in the casting of the main characters. And honestly, you can’t expect an adaptation to be copy paste of the book it’s based on, because like I said it’s simply based on it. I watch a lot of tv shows that are based on books and none of them are 100% like the book, except Outlander and even in it there are some (minor) differences and some things they added (which I think worked beautifully). But just because a tv show isn’t exactly like the book, it doesn’t mean it’s a bad tv show. For example The 100. I read the books and the show has nothing and I mean nothing to do with the books, and yet it’s one of my favourite tv shows! I don’t exactly consider Shadowhunters a good adaptation, but I love it as a tv show! If we focus on the characters and relationships, we’re finally seeing them brought to life! And most importantly, we’ll finally see Clace, Malec and Sizzy on the screen! The way I see it, the tv show is a way to rediscover this universe we love and to see more of our beloved characters and couples. I can’t wait to see more from them!

I didn’t really want to compare tv show to the movie, but I have to. For me the movie was a disappointment because they changed the characters a lot (like Valentine, seriously what was that). I really like the actors in the movie but I just didn’t like the way the characters were portrayed. In that aspect the tv show is a lot better. But the movie did follow the plot of the book better than the tv show, there were even exact scenes and lines which is probably the only redeeming thing about the movie. So here is where it gets confusing for me. If we combined the characters of the tv show with the plot of the movie it would’ve been a great adaptation. But I kinda like the changes in the tv show, I’m intrigued by them and I feel like I’m rediscovering the Shadow world! So overall, I prefer the tv show 🙂

Now, let’s do a recap.

Things I liked:
-The way the actors portrayed the characters! I loved everything about them! Jace was sarcastic and sweet to Clary, Clary was her fiesty self, Simon had is cute nerdiness, Isabelle was a sexy badass, Alec was moody and always concerned with the rules (Sed lex dura lex) and Magnus was sassy.
-The humour! It was quite funny.
-Luke being a cop, I think that’s interesting and it’s a way for him to have a bigger role.
-Magnus owning Pandemonium. I lot of people don’t like this but I think it was great to see him there right from the beginning. And if suits him haha.
-Dot. I actually quite liked some of the changes to her character.
-“It’s the Shadowhunter creed. Looking better in black than the widows of our enemies.” Okay this is from episode 2 but I just loved it!

Things I didn’t like:
-The amount of people in the Institute. I didn’t really get it…
-And speaking of Institute, what was up with all that technology? I get we’re in a modern world but one of the funny parts in the books was when Simon and Clary made references to something modern and the Shadowhunters didn’t get it, because they believe in the old ways. Though I did like it when Jace didn’t know what a GI Joe was. It was a nice touch.
-The slap didn’t happen! They recorded it but they must have cut it…
-Clary’s necklace, it was a bit weird how she could see whatever she wanted just by touching it.
-Jocelyn giving Clary the stele. Okay I read the book more than 2 years ago but I’m pretty sure Jace gave it to her…

Things I’m unsure about:
-Maureen. I don’t really get it but I’ll have to wait and see if her story line will still be the same. It’s too soon for me to talk about her.

Anyway, this is just my opinion. Please let me know yours if you watched it! 😉

3 thoughts on “Let’s talk Shadowhunters!

  1. I didn’t like the same things! the Institute! I couldn’t believe! Many times in the book, they institute hadn’t enough people and there were soo many in the show! And all that technology! Clary’s necklace is quite weird. bu overall it isn’t that bad. I loved all the characters too. I’m excited to see how this continue.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

