All the Books of 2015: Day 28

“All The Books Of 2015” it’s a challenge about all the books you read but only in this 2015!📚 The idea behind this it’s that through all the month of December we can share our reading year in pictures, favorites, least favorites, new favorite characters, otps, et cetera .

– annreads | IG


Day 28 – Favourite quotes

This year was a great year reading wise and I simply couldn’t choose between these quotes. I know there’s a lot but I suck at choosing just a few. Sorry XD

There might be spoilers for sequels.


Outlander by Diana Gabaldon:

“I can bear pain myself,” he said softly, “but I couldna bear yours. That would take more strength than I have.” 

“Oh, aye, Sassenach. I am your master . . . and you’re mine. Seems I canna possess your soul without losing my own.” 

“Ye are Blood of my Blood, and Bone of my Bone,
I give ye my Body, that we Two might be One.
I give ye my Spirit, ’til our Life shall be Done.” 

“You are safe,” he said firmly. “You have my name and my family, my clan, and if necessary, the protection of my body as well. The man willna lay hands on ye again, while I live.” 

“Does it ever stop? The wanting you?” “Even when I’ve just left ye. I want you so much my chest feels tight and my fingers ache with wanting to touch ye again.” 

“When I asked my da how ye knew which was the right woman, he told me when the time came, I’d have no doubt. And I didn’t. When I woke in the dark under that tree on the road to Leoch, with you sitting on my chest, cursing me for bleeding to death, I said to myself ‘Jamie Fraser, for all ye canna see what she looks like, and for all she weights as much as a good draft horse, this is the woman.” 

“I swore an oath before the altar of God to protect this woman. And if you’re tellin’ me that ye consider your own authority to be greater than that of the Almighty, then I must inform ye that I’m not of that opinion, myself.” 

“I swear on the cross of my Lord Jesus, and by the holy iron which I hold, that I give ye my fealty and pledge ye my loyalty. If ever my hand is raise against you in rebellion or in anger, then I ask that this holy iron may pierce my heart.” He kissed the dirk at the juncture of haft and tang, and handed it back to me.
“I don’t make idle threats, Sassenach,” he said, raising my brow, “and I don’t take frivolous vows. Now, can we go to bed?”


Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon:

“Blood of my Blood,” he whispered, “and bone of my bone. You carry me within ye, Claire, and ye canna leave me now, no matter what happens, You are mine, always, if ye will it or no, if ye want me or nay. Mine, and I wilna let ye go.” 

“I talk to you as I talk to my own soul,” he said, turning me to face him. He reached up and cupped my cheek, fingers light on my temple. “And Sassenach,” he whispered, “Your face is my heart.” 

“Oh, Claire, ye do break my heart wi’ loving you.” 

“If it was a sin for you to choose me . . . then I would go to the Devil himself and bless him for tempting ye to it.” 

“Then let amourous kisses dwell
On our lips, begin and tell
A Thousand and a Hundred score
A Hundred and a Thousand more” 

“I do know it, my own. Let me tell ye in your sleep how much I love you. For there’s no so much I can be saying to ye while ye wake, but the same poor words, again and again. While ye sleep in my arms, I can say things to ye that would be daft and silly waking, and your dreams will know the truth of them. Go back to sleep, mo duinne.” 

“We are bound, you and I, and nothing on this earth shall part me from you.”


Voyager by Diana Gabaldon:

“It has always been forever, for me, Sassenach” 

“Do ye not understand?” he said, in near desparation. “I would lay the world at your feet, Claire-and I have nothing to give ye!”
He honestly thought it mattered.” 

“I shook so that it was some time before I realized that he was shaking too, and for the same reason. I don’t know how long we sat there on the dusty floor, crying in each others arms with the longing of twenty years spilling down our faces.” 

“It wasn’t a thing I had consciously missed, but having it now reminded me of the joy of it; that drowsy intimacy in which a man’s body is accessible to you as your own, the strange shapes and textures of it like a sudden extension of your own limbs.” 

“For so many years, for so long, I have been so many things, so many different men. But here,” he said, so softly I could barely hear him, “here in the dark, with you… I have no name.” 

“Only you,” he said, so softly I could barely hear him. “To worship ye with my body, give ye all the service of my hands. To give ye my name, and all my heart and soul with it. Only you. Because ye will not let me lie–and yet ye love me.” 

“I pressed my own wrist against his, pulse to pulse, heartbeat to heartbeat.
“Blood of my blood…” I whispered.
“Bone of my bone.” His whisper was deep and husky. He knelt quite suddenly before me, and put his folded hands in mine; the gesture a Highlander makes when swearing loyalty to his chieftain.
“I give ye my spirit,” he said, head bent over our hands.
“‘Till our life shall be done,” I said softly. “But it isn’t done yet, Jamie, is it?”
Then he rose and took the shift from me, and I lay back on the narrow bed naked, pulled him down to me through the soft yellow light, and took him home, and home again, and we were neither one of us alone.”

“Then kiss me, Claire,” he whispered, “And know that you are more to me than life, and I have no regret.” 

“Do ye want me?” he whispered. “Sassenach, will ye take me – and risk the man that I am, for the sake of the man ye knew?” 

“I know why the Jews and Muslims have nine hundred names for God; one small word is not enough for love.” 

“Home is the place where they have to take you in” 


Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas:

“Libraries were full of ideas–perhaps the most dangerous and powerful of all weapons.”

“I can survive well enough on my own— if given the proper reading material.” 

“We all bear scars. Mine just happen to be more visible than most.” 

“My name is Celaena Sardothien. But it makes no difference if my name’s Celaena or Lillian or Bitch, because I’d still beat you, no matter what you call me.” 

“I like music,” she said slowly, “because when I hear it, I . . . I lose myself within myself, if that makes any sense. I become empty and full all at once, and I can feel the whole earth roiling around me. When I play. I’m not . . . for once, I’m not destroying, I’m creating.” 

“Apparently, a woman can only go so long without a sword between her hands.” 


Crown of Midnight by Sarah J Maas:

“Some things you hear with your ears. Others, you hear with your heart.” 

“She was Aelin Ashryver Galathynius—­and she would not be afraid.” 

“It would not take a monster to destroy a monster – but light, light to drive out darkness.


Queen of Shadows by Sarah J Maas:

“She was the heir of fire. She was fire, and light, and ash, and embers. She was Aelin Fireheart, and she bowed for no one and nothing, save the crown that was hers by blood and survival and triumph.”

“Let’s rattle the stars.”


The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J Maas:

“If you can learn to endure pain, you can survive anything. Some people learn to embrace it- to love it. Some endure it through drowning it in sorrow, or by making themselves forget. Others turn it into anger.”

“She was fire, she was darkness, she was dust and blood and shadow.” 

“My name is Wind and Rain. And Bone and Dust. My name is a snippet of a half-remembered song. I have no name. I am whoever the keepers of my fate tell me to be.” 


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas:

“I threw myself into that fire, threw myself into it, into him, and let myself burn.” 

“I love you,’ he whispered, and kissed my brow. ‘Thorns and all.” 

“We need hope, or else we cannot endure.” 

“I was as unburdened as a piece of dandelion fluff, and he was the wind that stirred me about the world.” 


The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh:

“The mighty Caliph of Khorasan. The King of Kings. Her beautiful monster.”

“And he smiled a smile to shame the sun.”

“I love you, a thousand times over. And I will never apologize for it.” 

“Love is—a shade of what I feel.” 

“This dangerous girl. This captivating beauty. This destroyer of worlds and creator of wonder.”


Shatter me by Tahereh Mafi:

“I spent my life folded between the pages of books.
In the absence of human relationships I formed bonds with paper characters. I lived love and loss through stories threaded in history; I experienced adolescence by association. My world is one interwoven web of words, stringing limb to limb, bone to sinew, thoughts and images all together. I am a being comprised of letters, a character created by sentences, a figment of imagination formed through fiction.”


Unravel me by Tahereh Mafi:

“The books…they helped keep me from losing my mind altogether.”

“Tattoos, for example, are very hard to forget. I think there’s something about the impermanence of life these days that makes it necessary to etch ink into our skins. It reminds us that we’ve been marked by the world, that we’re still alive. That we’ll never forget.” 

“He’s kissing me like the world is rolling right off a cliff, like he’s trying to hang on and he’s decided to hold on to me, like he’s starving for life and love and he’s never known it could ever feel this good to be close to someone. Like it’s the first time he’s ever felt anything but hunger and he doesn’t know how to pace himself, doesn’t know how to eat in small bites, doesn’t know how to do anything anything anything in moderation.” 

“Sticks and stones keep breaking my bones but these words, these words will kill me.”


Ignite me by Tahereh Mafi:

“Ignite, my love. Ignite.”


The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken:

“Let’s carpe the hell out of this diem.”

“Cause, frankly, the way I see it, you and me? Inevitable.”


Never Fade by Alexandra Bracken:

“Give ’em hell, darlin”

“Forgive yourself, but don’t forget”

 “Ghosts don’t haunt people–their memories do.” 


In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken:

“Thing is, though, fear is worthless. It stops you when you need to keep moving most. And it only exists inside of your head.”


Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout:

“I’ve always found that the most beautiful people, truly beautiful inside and out, are the ones who are quietly unaware of their effect. The ones who throw their beauty around, waste what they have? Their beauty is only passing. It’s just a shell hiding nothing but shadows and emptiness.”


The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin:

“The villain is the hero of her own story.” 

“Taste the rainbow, bitch.” 

“This is a love story. Twisted and messy. Flawed and screwed up. But it’s ours. It’s us. I don’t know how our story will end. but I know it will start. I pick up my pen and begin to write:
My name is not Mara Dyer, but my lawyer told me I had to choose something.” 

“Everyone’s a little crazy. Some people just hide it better than others.” 

“Like you’re the ocean and he’s desperate to drown.” 

“You are what happiness means to me. And I would rather have today with you than forever with anyone else.” 

“I feel something, I do it. I want something, I take it.” 

“I’ll love you to ruins.” 


The Murder Complex by Lindsay Cummings:

“Count to three. Relax your mind. Now survive.”


Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard:

“It’s our nature. We destroy. It’s the constant of our kind. No matter the color o blood, man will always fall.”

One thought on “All the Books of 2015: Day 28

Leave a Reply

