Fireheart Recs

IMG_2094So on my other posts of Fireheart Recs I recommended YA dystopian and fantasy books I read in 2015 but this post as 4 YA book series I read before 2015 and love.
I’ve been posting these often because I wanted to post them in this order on my bookstagram but after this one I will post them only once a month or something.
Also, I haven’t posted a review in a while because I haven’t had much time to read lately or to write a review of a book I’ve read before because of school work. But I hope I have more time after December 11th (that’s when tests and whatnot end) 🙂


(in no particular order this time)

1. The Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin
The first two books in this trilogy were actually my last books of 2014 haha and then I read the last one in January 2015. I’m not quite sure what genre this is. I’ve read it’s a paranormal romance, dystopian and fantasy… All I know for sure is it’s young adult. I honestly love everything about these books – the plot, the characters, the writing. The story is thrilling and haunting in a way. I love the fact that Mara, our protagonist, is a antiheroine. The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer was the first book I read where this happens and Mara is definitely one of my favourite female characters. I loved her dark sense of humour as well as Noah’s and Jamie’s, they never failed to make me laugh. And oh boy Noah is definitely one of my fictional boyfriends, I love him. And I really want to reread these books now!

Screen shot 2014-11-16 at 3.39.53 PM

2. The Hush, Hush saga by Becca Fitzpatrick
As you probably know by now, these books mean a lot to me. I first read Hush Hush a year after it came out (2010 I think) and found it very fast paced and I was hooked from the very first chapter (something that doesn’t happen very often). Patch instantly drew me in with his mysteriousness and sassy comments to Nora. He was my first fictional boyfriend so he’ll always have a special place in my heart. To be honest, I found Nora a bit lacking at first, but she was better towards the end. And Scott oh my God I loved him. The last book, Finale took me on a emotional rollercoaster but it was so good! Even though it came out in the end of 2012 (though I read it in the beginning of 2013) I still can’t believe it’s over : (

cover_hushhushquartet

3. The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare
I absolutely love the Shadow world! These were some of the books that helped me getting into reading and fandoms, along with Hush Hush. I read the first book, City of Bones in a day during summer break of 2013 (granted our car stopped working in the middle of nowhere and we were stranded for more than 2 ours so I had quite a lot of free time). I was completely drawn by the world building and the huge variety of characters. Cassandra Clare writes her characters so well I couldn’t help falling in love with pretty much everyone, including the villain of the story, even if he wanted to burn down the world… I don’t want to spoil but if you’ve read City of Glass you know who I’m referring to (not Valentine of course).

tmi-book-covers

4. The Infernal Devices trilogy by Cassandra Clare
I wish I could re-experience both of Cassandra Clare’s series like it was the first time and read TID before City of Glass (book 3 of TMI) so I could understand some things that happen in TMI better. I read The Infernal Devices in 2014 after I finished the last book of TMI, City of Heavenly Fire. These books are set in 19th century Victorian London and the protagonists are the ancestors of the main characters from TMI. I love that everything is connected in Cassie’s series. Once again, I was completely drawn by the world building and amazing characters. The love triangle between Jem, Will and Tessa tugged at my heart strings but I understood the need for it, it made sense even if it killed me.

infernal-devices


So here are some other fantasy books I really recommend! Have you read any of these? If so please let me know what you think down in the comments : )

8 thoughts on “Fireheart Recs

  1. Yes! Yes! YES!! MALEC OTP. As you can guess, I have finished CoG. OMG I loved Sebastian! TOTALLY DID NOT SEE THAT COMING!!! Magnus Bane is literally my favorite book character. He is so witty!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

