Fireheart Recs: Fantasy

IMG_2094

For my second Fireheart Recs post I’ll be recommending my favourite Fantasy novels of 2015 (so far)! Fantasy is my favourite genre so I’ve chosen more books. In case you didn’t know, Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses are two of my favourite fantasy books but I didn’t put them here because I’ll make a post only about Sarah J Maas’ books next 😀

1. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renée Ahdieh
The Wrath and the Dawn is really high on my top 15 books of 2015! It’s a retelling of A Thousand and One Nights but it’s still a unique story. That’s what I love about retellings! You read a fairytale or story you really enjoy but in a different and unique way. I had The Wrath and the Dawn on my shelf for a while and this month I finally decided to read it and oh my God why didn’t I sooner?! The story and characters are so captivating and the writting is beautiful. I really really recommend it, you can see my review here for more details 🙂 I can’t wait for book 2, The Rose and the Dagger! And now that I think about it, I’d love to see this as a movie or better yet, a tv show!

WRATHcover

2 . The Sweet trilogy
I love this trilogy! I think it’s a very interesting take on demons and angels. The characters are all very different from each other and quite interesting too. In Sweet Evil, Anna was very innocent and naïve but in Sweet Peril she goes through big character development and I love the strong female she became. I fell in love with Kaidan Rowe the minute he was introduced to the story. I loved that he was a drummer, a sarcastic, sweet and caring one. He troubled by what he is and what he has to do and it seemed like he didn’t care about Anna sometimes but that was just to protect her. I really like him. And he reminds me of Daemon Black from the Lux series (which I’ll be mentioning next). You can check out my review of Sweet Temptation (which has the important parts of each book in Kaidan’s POV) here if you’d like 🙂

Sweet Series Four Covers

3. The Lux series by Jennifer L Armentrout
This series is fairly well known. Whenever I went to tumblr I always saw some post about how wonderful Daemon Black was. And he did not disappoint. God, he’s amazing! Neither did Katy, I really liked her has a female lead. She was really funny and a badass and above all, she loved to read! She even had a book vlog 😀 And the story was great, it got me in love with aliens haha. It was full of plot twists and cliffhangers. Man, those cliffhangers! I read the 5 books and novella in 10 hours each, I was hooked. I have the collector’s edition like in the picture below. Lux Beginnings has Obsidian, Onyx and bonus content for both of them; Lux Consequences has Opal, Origin and bonus content for both; and Lux Opposition has Opposition, Shadows (the novella) and bonus content for Opposition. And it was actually this series that made me finally read Sweet Evil because Kaidan and Anna are mentioned in Opposition I think 😀

Lux-series-covers-620x310

4. The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E Pearson
I really enjoyed The Kiss of Deception and the way the author wrote it. Just when you think you have everything figured out, who’s the Assassin and who’s the Prince, BAM plot twist! I mean wow. Once I got to the plot twist, which is like a bit past the middle of the book, I couldn’t stop reading and finished the book. I liked the fact the Lia, the main character, is not your stereotyped princess. I thought the dynamic between Lia, Rafe and Kaden was interesting in the first book. The Heart of Betrayal was even better than The Kiss of Deception, in my opinion. We got to see Lia go through some amazing character development and we got to know more about Kaden, which I loved. And of course there’s the whole Venda thing which I thought was very interesting. If you’d like to read more about each of the books, you can check out my review of The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal 🙂

91NELvx-mtL._SL1500_1415031355471-Heart of Betrayal_final_lo

4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Red Queen was a very interesting book. I loved the fact that Mare, our protagonist, is deeply flawed. In order to survive she had to manipulate a lot of people, including some of her friends, and that brought drastic consequences. And that freaking plot twist. “Anyone can betray anyone.” damn right. I don’t want to talk much about this book because I’m afraid I’ll spoil you, but you can check my review here for more information. After that ending I am dying to get my hands on book 2, Glass Sword!

red_queen_book_cover_a_p

Here you have it, my top 5 Fantasy books of 2015! Please tell me if you’ve read any of these books and what you think of them 😉

16 thoughts on “Fireheart Recs: Fantasy

Leave a Reply

