Badlands Book tag

Halsey-Cover - Cópia

I was tagged by twosoulsonebook to do the Badlands Book Tag! I love Halsey so this seemed like a great thing to do! The original tag was created by faithsbookspiration 🙂


   1. Castle

“Sick of all these people talking, sick of all this noise.”

Choose a book that has hype surrounding it that you wish you didn’t have to hear about.
Everyone talks about Eleanor & Park and how amazing it is but I honestly didn’t like it. I just felt like it was racist and Park was a cliché character with zero character development. If you read this article you’ll see that the other didn’t do any research about Asian American culture (the person who wrote that article is asian american so she know what she’s talking about).

71LkLmxqgjL

“I’m headed straight for the castle. They wanna make me their queen.”

Choose a 2016 release that you think will be “the next big thing.”
Probably Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. It sounds really interesting and the author is a good friend of Sarah J. Maas, who is my favourite writer! So yeah, I have high expectations.
Also, Passenger by Alexandra Bracken! I love The Darkest Minds trilogy and this sounds really interesting. She’s also friends with Sarah J. Maas and Susan Dennard haha 😀

21414439      Alexandra-Bracken-Passenger

   2. Hold me down

“Throw me in the deep end watch me drown.”

What’s a book that made you drown in the feels?
Sweet Temptation gave me all the feels from Sweet Evil, Sweet Peril and Sweet Reckoning, only more hightened since it was from Kaidan’s POV. And all the songs in the beginning of the chapters helped making me more emotional!

IMG_0931

 3. New Americana

“But he could never love somebody’s daughter.”

Choose a favorite LGBT character.
Magnus Bane! He’s awesome. And I also love Alec Lightwood. He’s precious. Malec is my favourite ship in TMI ♡
Sadly, I don’t think I know many other LGBT fictional book characters. I know more in tv shows.

IMG_0275

“We know very well who we are, so we hold it down when summer starts.”

Choose a character who is deceptive about their identity.
Celaena Sardothien. Probably the biggest deception in YA history. It’s definitely the biggest deception in my bookshelves.

IMG_0272

 4. Drive

“All we do is think about the feelings that we hide.”

Choose a character that tries to push away their feelings in an attempt to protect themselves or others.
This screams Will Herondale, my poor sweet baby ♥ He pushes Tessa and his feelings for her away because he believes he’s cursed and that if Tessa falls in love with him she will die : (

IMG_0600

“…would it really kill you if we kissed.”

Choose a fictional character that you would kiss if they showed up at your doorstep.
There can’t possibly only be one answer to this question!
I’d kiss Jamie Fraser, Patch Cipriano, Noah Shaw, Aaron Warner, Kaidan Rowe, Daemon Black, Will Herondale, Rowan Whitethorn, Chaol Westfall, Dorian Havilliard and also the girls from the Throne of Glass series because they are absolute badasses and I’d go lesbian for them.

 5. Hurricane

“And there’s a storm you’re starting now.”

Choose a book/series that grabbed you from the get-go.
Many great books have grabbed my attenttion from the first page but I’m gonna go with the first ever book that did that to me and that was Hush, Hush! I read it in 2010 or 2011 and absolutely loved it. These books will always hold a special place in my heart because they got me into reading in the first place.
 
IMG_1495

“Don’t belong to no city don’t belong to no man.”

Choose one of your favorite strong female leads.
Aelin Ashryver Galathynius ♡

IMG_1140

   6. Roman Holiday

“We’ll be lacing the same shoes that we’ve worn through.”

Choose a concept that has been used many times. (Good or bad)
Love triangles/squares/pentagons/whatever it is. I just think there are beter ways to prevennt the main couple from getting together without adding another love interest. And it always causes ship wars, which I hate. But there are some love triangles that work. Like in Outlander, Claire leaves her husband behind in 1945 and falls in love with Jamie in 1743 and I think it was a good thing that the author did it this way.

“Keep close, stand tall”

Choose a fandom that you will always stand by despite the hate.
I’ll always stand by my many fandoms but I’m choosing the TMI fandom because there’s a lot of commotion going on right now with the tv show (which I think looks great).

IMG_1496

   7. Ghost

“I’m searching for something that I can’t reach.”

Choose a book/series that missed the mark for you.
The Host because I felt like there were a bunch of nothing going on for pages and I got bored. I enjoyed the movie though.

hostbookcover

   8. Colors

“You ripped at every edge but you’re a masterpiece”

Choose a book/series that ripped your heart into a million pieces but you still love it because it’s a literal masterpiece.
Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber both ripped my heart out but are amazing books. I’m both excited and scared to read Voyager for what might happen…

IMG_0022      IMG_0799

   9. Strange Love

“That’s the beauty of a secret, you know you’re supposed to keep it.”

A book/series that you got spoiled for.
Allegiant. Honestly, didn’t we all?

IMG_1526

   10. Coming Down

“I’m such a fool to pay this price”

Choose a book that you bought but as soon as you started reading it you regretted the purchase.
Eleanor & Park. Why in the world did I have to buy the special Barnes&Noble harcover edition??

9781250064875_p0_v4_s260x420-1

   11. Haunting

“…I’ve been cold since you left.”

Choose a book/series that made you numb once you finished it.
Again, Outlander and Dragonfly in Amber. Both left me very numb indeed. And made me cry multiple times.

IMG_0022      IMG_0799

   12. Gasoline

“…saying that you shouldn’t waste your pretty face like me.”

Choose a book that has a gorgeous cover but you disliked the actual content.
Again, Eleanor & Park has a very pretty cover but the content made me cringe.
And The Host has a pretty cover too but it was boring af.
They both had potential though, which pisses me off.

9781250064875_p0_v4_s260x420-1      hostbookcover

 13. Control

“And all the kids cried out, ‘Please stop you’re scaring me.'”

Choose a book that scared you.
I’ve never been scared by a book but The Murder Complex can be creepy because of all the death and blood and gore. And let’s not forget that people have identification codes tattooed in their foreheads.

IMG_0542

 14. Young God

“And I’ve been sitting at the bottom of the swimming pool for a while now.”

Choose a book/series that you think needs more recognition.
I feel like the Sweet Trilogy deserves more recognition because it’s an amazing take on Demons and Angels and the characters are amazing. I love Kaidan!

FullSizeRender

   15. I walk the line

“You’ve got a way to keep me on your side”

An author that keeps you coming back for more.
Sarah J. Maas because she is the freaking queen ♛

32 thoughts on “Badlands Book tag

  1. I FINISHED HEIR OF FIRE!!! I have no words. OMG. Yowch. I don’t understand the world. Chaol or Rowan. IDEK! Chaolaena or Rowaena??? I don’t know anymore! OMG conflicting emotion. I need to calm…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ikr?! I still ship Chaolaena at the end of Heir of Fire because I felt like what Rowan and Aelin had was a warrior bond, not romance. But after Queen of Fire I realized that although Chaol and Celaena needed each other, Rowan and Aelin belong together. Because Celaena and Aelin are different people. So technically I ship both Chaolaena and Rowaelin xx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. What happened to Chaol??? Started QoS and he’s like a different person. Heart-broken! I also didn’t miss the narrative changing from ‘Celaena’ to ‘Aelin’! The feels. X

        Like

      1. Well, she’s cool and all but I’d prefer if she wasn’t such a large part of the book… It gets frustrating when something big has just happened with Celaena/Aelin and suddenly it switches to her.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I totally knew that??? Oops until middle of HoF I thought Asterin as Aedion and that’s where he had been sneaking off to! She acted like a boy. Oops!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

