Review: Dragonfly in Amber

IMG_0799


Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander #2

963 pages

Finished in October 30th

5 stars


“…da mi basia mille…”

It took me awhile to get into this book because it revolved a lot around politics and I found it challenging to get through at times. But I have to congratulate Diana Gabaldon for the amount of research she put into this book. I feel a lot more knowledgeable after reading it! Like in Outlander, it contains a lot of sexual scenes and some violence but I think Dragonfly in Amber was more about mind games and politics, like I said above.

Much like in the first book, Gabaldon doesn’t sugar coat the truth. She describes the journey of Claire and Jamie wonderfully well with all its ups and downs. They go through very challenging situations, both as individuals and as a couple, and she’s not afraid to show us that the decisions they make always have consequences, wether good or bad. It’s this realism that I love in Diana Gabaldon’s books.

The plot is set in two different times and even though that left me really confused while reading part one, in the end I though it was a really interesting way to write the book, like a story within a story.

Even though the ending had me in tears I think it was an amazing ending and it definitely makes readers crave for book three!!

“Then let amorous kisses dwell
On our lips, begin and tell
A Thousand and a Hundred score
A Hundred, and a Thousand more.”

5 thoughts on “Review: Dragonfly in Amber

Leave a Reply

